Review: The Pleasure of Your Kiss, by Teresa Medeiros

Title: The Pleasure of Your Kiss

Author: Teresa Medeiros

Publication: Pocket Star Books, 2011

Pages: 506

Genre: Historical Romance

Rating: 4/5 Stars


I absolutely adore Teresa Medeiros. She’s absolutely everything a romance author should be. Her plots, while uncomplicated, still make the reader feel as though she’s getting more out of the novel than a smut-fest, her characters are wonderful, and I never leave her books without feeling like love truly does conquer all. This is the 10th book I’ve read by her, and I think only one really failed to meet my expectations. She focuses mainly on historical fiction, which is one of my favorite romance sub-genres, but I found her through one of her few time-travel stories, which is my absolute favorite type of romance. I’ll read almost anything you put in front of me.

I think what makes Teresa stand out more than other romance authors is the care she takes with her characters, and I do mean all them. She fleshes out even the most minor of her players, given them individual personalities and motivations. If the person has a name, they have a story, even if it’s just a small one. No character feels useless, and I really, really enjoy that.

The Pleasure of Your Kiss focuses on Clarinda, a Regency heiress on her way across the ocean to be a director of the East India Company. Along the way, her ship is attacked by corsairs, and she and her companion are sold into a sultan’s harem. Desperate to rescue his bride, her fiance, Max, hires his rapscallion brother, Ash, to save Clarinda from the clutches of the lecherous Arab. Ash almost refuses, wanting nothing to do with the woman who broke his heart years before agreeing to marry his brother, but he can’t just sit by and let her waste away in the harem.

During the story, we learn about Ash and Clarinda’s past, discover that the sultan isn’t precisely the ogre he is assumed to be, and Clarinda faces a difficult choice between two men who saved her life and the one man without whom her life has no meaning.

A romance in the most traditional sense, I fell in love with Ash and Clarinda, and I eagerly await Teresa’s next novel, which focuses on Max.

If you’re a romantic at heart but this doesn’t sound *quite* like your cup of tea, I’ll highly recommend my two absolute favorites of Teresa’s books: Breath of Magic, which tells the tale of a Salem witch who travels through time and shows a cold-hearted businessman who doesn’t believe in magic that love is the most powerful spell of all, and The Bride and the Beast, a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast in 1600s Scotland. Both are absolutely fantastic!

Categories: book review | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: The Pleasure of Your Kiss, by Teresa Medeiros

  1. I’ve never actually read a romance book. I’m kind of scared to get into the genre because even with sticking to YA and a bit of fantasy my reading list is already extraordinarily long.

    • sanalith

      hahaha I know exactly what you mean! And romance is definitely one of those genres that you either love or hate, so I know sometimes it seems like it’s not even worth trying. At times it’s almost like trying to find quality fic over at ff.net. You know it’s there, but it takes *forever* to sort out! But once you start finding good authors, they’re hard to put down. I read a ton of them in college simply because I was reading soooo many history and literature books, and I needed something lighter. Now I’m addicted! ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

